You’re viewing documentation for Portfolio Administration 3.6.3. See this page for the current version

Roles

On this page

Users connect to a catalog with one of four roles: Catalog Administrator, Publisher, Editor, or Reader. Each role determines the features and functionality available to the user once they have connected to a catalog. A user may have a different role in each catalog.

  • Catalog Administrator: The Catalog Administrator role allows a catalog user to perform any action available within Portfolio Web, and can also log in to the Administration application in order to generate reports, manage NetPublish sites, and modify the catalog, including defining custom fields, master keywords, and Watch Folders, and configure all catalog-specific settings. For an overview of what a Catalog Administrator can do, see Catalog administration tasks.

  • Publisher: The Publisher role is primarily used to let a user add and delete catalog entries. While this user can also enter data, they are limited in that they cannot alter or define fields, including the Master Keyword list.

  • Editor: The Editor role is primarily for users that need to perform data-entry tasks. It is different from Publisher mainly in that it does not allow users to add or delete assets.

  • Reader: A Reader in a catalog may search and perform some other basic tasks, but is limited in that users with this role may not add or delete assets, or edit fields within the catalog.

Roles and clients

The following operations are available to Portfolio Web and Desktop client users and can be enabled or disabled in the Roles page of the Administration application:

  • Access and Process Originals: Allows the user to download original files. When this permission and Use Convert Presets are enabled, the user has access to the Batch Process function.

  • Add Assets: Allows users to add assets to a catalog.

  • Can Smart Keyword: Allows the user to use the Suggest Smart Keyword feature for cataloged assets.

  • Check Out Assets: For Vault catalogs, allow the user to check out an asset.

  • Delete Asset from Catalog: Allows users to remove assets from a catalog.

    • Regardless of this setting, users will always be allowed to remove assets from a gallery.

    • In a Vault catalog, this permission also allows users to delete assets from the Vault, without the need to have the Delete Original Assets permission.

  • Delete Original Assets: Allows users to remove files from disk when removing assets from a Watch Folder catalog. (Users must also have the Delete Asset from Catalog permission in order to delete original assets.)

  • Embed Metadata: Allows users to edit metadata that can be embedded in a file.

  • Import/Export Metadata: Allows users to export metadata for assets to a text file, or import metadata for existing cataloged assets from a text file (either from another Portfolio catalog or from a different system).

  • Make PDF: Allows the user to generate a PDF contact sheet.

  • Manage Presets (Convert and Make PDF): Allows users to create, edit, and delete Batch Process and PDF presets. (In order to manage Batch Process presets, users must also have permission to Access and Process Originals and Use Convert Presets. In order to manage PDF presets, users must have the Make PDF permission.)

  • Manage Public Field Lists: Allows users to add, remove, and edit field list presets.

  • Manage Public Galleries: Allow users to create, update, and delete public galleries.

  • Modify Folder Structures: Allows users to add and remove subfolders. In order to move subfolders, users must have the Move Assets permission.

  • Move Assets: Allows users to move assets between folders.

  • Publish NetPublish Sites: Allows the user to publish and modify NetPublish sites.

  • Sync AutoSync Folders: Allows users to manually synchronize a watch folder.

  • Update Asset Fields: Allows users to edit metadata for an asset. Users must also have the Embed Metadata permission.

  • Use Convert Presets: Allows users to use custom conversion presets created by others. When this permission and Access and Process Originals are enabled, the user has access to the Batch Process function.

Each role has some enabled permissions, some permissions that can be enabled, and some that cannot be enabled. Permissions that cannot be changed for a specific role are dimmed.

For example: Users with the Publisher role initially cannot manage presets, but this capability can be enabled for all Publisher users. By contrast, Catalog Administrators always have this capability, but Reader and Editor users can’t be allowed to manage presets.

Configuring roles

To configure options for each user role:

  1. Click Roles and select a role.

  2. Enable or disable options.

Changes are saved automatically.

Custom roles

If the built-in roles do not meet your needs, you can create custom roles with exactly the permissions that you want to allow.

To create a new role, click Add at the top of the Roles panel, enter the new role’s name, then click Save.

Check the box next to each permission that you want to allow for the new role.

Note: It is up to you to make sure your custom role has appropriate and logical permissions.

To edit a custom role, highlight it in the list, then select or deselect permissions.

To remove a custom role, highlight it in the list and click Remove , then click OK in the confirmation dialog.

Note: When you remove a custom role, any user that had that role assigned will be assigned the Reader role.