Server data locations
Portfolio needs several locations to use for permanent and transient storage. To see and change these locations, click Global Settings, then click Server Data Locations.
Important
It is a good idea to modify these settings before you create any catalogs; this can save you significant time (and Portfolio down time) if you need to change any of these locations later.
For some suggestions on how to configure your Portfolio system, see System recommendations.
AutoSync folders
The AutoSync folders location is used for new Watch Folder catalogs. If the Create AutoSync folders setting is enabled, then Portfolio will automatically create an AutoSync folder in the specified location when you create a new Watch Folder catalog. This is useful because catalog users can immediately start adding assets.
The AutoSync folder is given the same name as your catalog with the word “Files” appended; if your catalog is named “Big Client” then the AutoSync folder will be named “Big Client Files”.
The settings used for the default AutoSync folder are:
-
Synchronize assets when changes are found;
-
Do not remove missing assets from Catalog.
These settings cannot be modified.
To change the default location where AutoSync folders are created, click Change, then browse to the desired location and click Select. The folder that you select must be read/write accessible to the Portfolio server. Be sure it is on a drive with plenty of space.
If Create AutoSync folders is not enabled, you can still create an AutoSync folder when you create a new Watch Folder catalog. In the Create Catalog dialog, enter the catalog name, select Watch Folders, then check the box labeled Create an AutoSync folder.
Important: If you do not create an AutoSync folder with your Watch Folders catalog, a Catalog Administrator will need to create a Watch Folder from the Portfolio Web or Desktop client. See Adding Watch Folders for details.
Previews folder
Portfolio creates preview images (or clips for media files) when an asset is cataloged, and stores those previews in a specific folder for each catalog. Portfolio will automatically create a Previews folder in the specified location when you create a new catalog.
The Previews folder is given the same name as your catalog with “_previews” appended; if your catalog is named “Big Photos” then the Previews folder will be named “Big Photos_previews”.
To change the default location where the Previews folder is created, click Change, then browse to the desired location and click Select. The folder that you select must be read/write accessible to the Portfolio server. Preview files for a catalog can consume a lot of space; make sure the chosen location has plenty of available space.
A Catalog Administrator can change the specifications of preview files as well as the location of the Previews folder for a specific catalog. See Previews for details.
Temporary Work folder
When cataloging and converting assets, Portfolio requires some temporary work space. This space is used for, among other things, holding user conversion jobs until they can be downloaded. Such jobs can require a lot of space, albeit temporarily.
By default, Portfolio locates its work folder on the same drive that it is installed on (typically, the boot drive of the Portfolio server system).
If you don’t want your boot drive to be subject to a lot of read/write activity, or if you anticipate users creating very large conversions (especially GIS or video conversions), you may wish to specify a different location for Portfolio to use for its work files.
To change the location of the Temporary Work folder:
-
Click Status, then click Stop Portfolio.
-
Click Global Settings, then click Server Data Locations.
-
Click Change next to Temporary Work folder.
-
Browse to the desired work folder, then click Select.
The folder that you select must be read/write accessible to the Portfolio server.
-
Click Status, then click Start Portfolio.
Portfolio Vault folder
The Vault is a customized high-performance structure where all your Vault catalogs and their associated asset files are stored.
In order to change the Vault location, you need to stop the Portfolio server first.
Important: If you already have existing Vault catalogs, you will need to move this data to the new location before you re-start Portfolio. See Moving an existing Vault.
To change the Vault location:
-
Click Status, then click Stop Portfolio.
-
Click Global Settings, then click Server Data Locations.
-
Click Change next to Portfolio Vault folder.
-
Browse to the desired Vault folder, then click Select.
The folder that you select must be read/write accessible to the Portfolio server.
-
Click Status, then click Start Portfolio.
Logs folder
Portfolio logs its performance and error information.
To change the location of common log files:
-
Click Status, then click Stop Portfolio.
-
Click Global Settings, then click Server Data Locations.
-
Click Change next to Logs folder.
-
Browse to the desired Logs folder, then click Select.
The folder that you select must be read/write accessible to the Portfolio server.
-
Click Status, then click Start Portfolio.
For more information about log file configuration and content, see Portfolio logs.