Check in/Check out

If you are using a vault catalog, you can use Portfolio as part of your workflow to manage assets and track changes.

Note: If an asset is locked, you must unlock it to check it out. Click the Locked icon in the asset tile and choose Unlock from the menu.

To check out an asset:

  1. Select the asset;

  2. Click the Unlocked icon in the asset tile;

  3. Choose Check out from the menu.

    Tip: The Unlocked icon changes to Checked out once you have checked out the asset.

  4. With the asset still selected, click the Downloads menu and choose Download Originals.

You can now edit the downloaded file as needed for the new version of the asset.

To check in an asset:

  1. Click the Checked out icon in the asset tile;

  2. Choose Check In from the menu;

  3. In the Check In dialog, type a comment (such as what you changed in this version of the asset);

  4. Click Select Files, locate the edited version of the file, and click Choose for Upload;

  5. Click Check In.

Tip: If you need to make a new version of an asset with only different keywords or other metadata, you don’t need to download the asset’s file, and when you check in the asset, you don’t need to select a file to upload.